Testimonials

Don’t just take our word for it.

Here is what clients and partners say about our services as art brokers, art consultants and art appraisers.

BB_DH_May2011_outsideIf you would like to know more, send us your art enquiry or contact David Hulme by email.

Michael Lynch, interim director of the National Art School, Sydney, Nov. 2016

“On behalf of the National Art School, I’d like to thank you for your professional, informed and candid assessment of the market value of the National Art School Collection. We are extremely appreciative of the time and care you put into your extensive report on our collection which comprises almost 4,000 items.
Your report, accompanying photographs and documentation will be an invaluable asset to us, and will also allow us to transfer this information to our database for future research. It has been a pleasure to work with both of you, and we look forward to our ongoing association.”

C.C., New South Wales, April 2017

“Dear Brigitte and David, thank you very much for your efficient expert help. I really enjoyed reading such a comprehensive and useful report. Kind regards”

J.F., New South Wales, February 2017

“Dear David and Brigitte, Thank you so much for the parcel which arrived today. I am so grateful for the time and effort that you both put into the valuation of my art. Many of these works have been in my family for generations and it wonderful to now have such detailed documentation about them, for my children. Thank you again”

G.D., New South Wales, July 2016

“Dear Brigitte and David, thank you so much for your valuation! I am so grateful to you for the time and care you put into putting it together for me and for your invaluable skill.”

P.S., New South Wales, June 2016

“We would like to thank you for your market value on our watercolour.  We appreciate the time and effort that you have put into your research and report.  We will certainly recommend you to our friends and acquaintances.”

J.L., Victoria, May 2016

“Thank you so very much for the valuations and the comments by David.  I am amazed at the detail that has gone into it and would be only too happy to recommend you to anyone wanting a similar valuation done in the future.  Please convey to David my grateful thanks and appreciation.”

A.B., Queensland, May 2016

“Your written valuation was done in a very timely fashion and was excellent value. The follow up phone call was also appreciated and provided even more useful information. I thoroughly recommend your services to others.”

M.P., Queensland, February 2016

“I am both very grateful and impressed with the assistance you provided and will have no hesitation in referring people to Banziger Hulme.”

J.M., Queensland, February 2016

“Thank you so much. It has been a real pleasure dealing with you both. I will share the wonderful explanatory letter with my family who I’m sure will enjoy learning more about our paintings.”

D.G., New South Wales, February 2016

“Thank you for the appraisal and valuation, very comprehensive and informative.”

V.D., Sydney, February 2016

“Thank you so much for your comprehensive and quick reply. I will definitely be recommending your very pleasant and easy to deal with service to our accountant for any of his future clients.”

K.M., South Australia, November 2015

“Dear Brigitte and David,

We were so pleased to see your findings regarding our two lovely watercolours. They’ve always been special to our family but to find they have a place in the history of Australian painting gives them an even greater lustre. Thank you so much for your efforts – your thoroughness and enthusiasm went far beyond our expectations when we initially decided to have the works professionally valued.”

R.L., Sydney, November 2015

” Thank you David I have just returned from London today and only reviewed the report now. Firstly thank you, as this was exactly what I was looking for, and your report is extensive and gives me a realistic understanding of what the options are and what the market can handle.

Once again thank you to you and Brigitte for this excellent work and report.”

R.M, Sydney, July 2015

“Dear Brigitte and David,thank you for the lovely package that arrived this afternoon.  I had no idea where to look, so I found you on Google, and have been delighted with our dealings – very professional, yet warm and friendly – I could not ask for more, and would not hesitate recommending your firm to anyone who might ask.”

D.J., Melbourne, April 2015

“Brigitte and David, thank you both for the work you’ve done on this valuation. David, I am extremely happy with the depth of your work and I’m so glad I chose you to research my painting. You clearly have a great passion for art and I appreciate the level of interest and the enthusiasm you have shown for my painting. Thanks for the insight.”

A.L., Brisbane, March 2015

“I must compliment you and David on the excellent service you provide!”

G.J., Perth, March 2015

“Thank you very much for all your help. The reports were wonderful reading and we appreciate all that you and David have done for us.”

A.T., March 2015

“You guys are amazing and very helpful… thank you so much for all your assistance. Kind Regards”

P.T., Sydney, Feb. 2015

“Dear Brigitte and David, once again, I wish to thank both you and David for your very professional, informative and prompt service. It is very much appreciated. Very best wishes.”

N.E., Queensland, Dec. 2014

“Thanks so much Brigitte for organising the transport to ensure arrival in Brisbane in time for us to pick the painting up. We are very pleased with how it has all gone and will have no hesitation in recommending your services to our friends.”

K.G., Victoria, July 2014

“Good morning Brigitte,

Thank you so much for your prompt and professional service. It was a pleasure dealing with both yourself and David, and I would highly recommend you to anyone wanting a valuation or advice.”

B.M, July 2014

“David – thank you so very much for this information.  I am most grateful for your professional advice.  You have told me exactly what I needed to know.”

E.M., New South Wales, July 2014

“Hi Brigitte and David,

Thank you so much for coming back to me with the valuation. It definitely does appear to be the preparatory sketch for Sunday Morning… I’m so grateful for the research you’ve done into its origins.

I also appreciate the advice on framing and will most definitely approach the framer you suggested.”

B.F., New South Wales, June 2014

“David, Brigitte

Thank you for the valuations, and for the speedy turnaround; this is exactly what we were looking for.

We are currently reviewing insurance coverage for a couple of our properties, and have been concerned that we had too many lesser value, and lesser known pictures, individually insured, while some of our more significant pieces were undervalued.  This assessment will allow us to direct our insurance dollars more effectively. “

K.T., Victoria, April 2014:

“Dear Brigitte, Thank you to yourself and David for all of your help. This appraisal helps us enormously.”

L.B., Sydney, April 2014

“Dear Brigitte and David,
I have just received the hard copies of your appraisal and valuation of the artworks.
I must compliment you on your professionalism, comprehensive cataloguing and presentation. I greatly appreciate your help in making this process as stress free as possible under the circumstances!
I will definitely recommend your services and will be in touch in the future should I choose to sell any of the works.
Once again, many thanks and kind regards”

J.P., New South Wales, March 2014

“Dear Brigitte and David. Again thank you for all your help with our art pieces. It has been very much appreciated. The funds showed in my account yesterday. Fond regards”

R.O., Queensland, February 2014

“Dear Brigitte, very happy with the result tonight. Thank you and David for the great advice and for stress free selling of our painting here in Australia.”

R.W., New South Wales, January 2014

“Thank you so much for the detailed evaluation of our Russell Drysdale drawing. The detail and advice contained in your report is very helpful.”

Jane Chapman, Chatswood, October 2013:

“I found Banziger Hulme Fine Art Consultants on the net while looking for someone to value my
father’s artwork after he died. I had rung a large city-based firm as well as Banziger Hulme, but was
totally turned off by that firm’s patronizing and condescending air.

In contrast, Brigitte Banziger and David Hulme offer an informed, accessible and professional service
(as well as being delightful people). They will learn your tastes and wants quickly and make fruitful
recommendations when needed. Being a home-based service, their prices are eminently reasonable
and they will go the extra mile for their clients when appropriate. Their industry contacts are
extensive and I have found their advice extremely sound. Where necessary, they will guide me away
from what they advise to be a poor choice.

But, beware! your love of art will be fostered, your desire for greater involvement will grow and your
journey from wistful onlooker to delighted aficionado-in-training may well begin. If however, you are
already knowledgeable, you will be offered a partnership-in-expertise. Should your wants be simple,
you will get fast, friendly and expert service.”

Craig Marran, Singapore, September 2013:

“Being a novice art collector I benefit greatly from the experience of David and Brigitte across the whole spectrum of buying, from their initial views on paintings and artists, the appraisals of the paintings themselves (particularly as I live overseas, so I’m unable to view them physically) to the bidding at auction and collection of the pieces. It’s an invaluable service for me.

You helped steer me in the right direction. I might like a painting, which is where it starts for me and most people, but there may be good reasons to steer clear of it due to the condition of the painting, the period in which it was painted was not the artist’s greatest, it’s too expensive based on recent sales, etc.

Helping to secure prices I like with unbiased, independent advice is very valuable and has become more enjoyable.”

Brett and Sue, Sydney, September 2013:

“We have come a long way in our art education thanks to David and Brigitte, having first met them to authenticate and value paintings. Their professional approach and knowledge of the art market has been instrumental in providing us with the skills and confidence to build a significant art collection.

We have used many of the services offered by Banziger Hulme Fine Art Experts, including authentication, valuations, pre-purchase reports, auction bidding as well as arranging the re-framing of several artworks.  David has also “curated” our collection, just as he has curated many public exhibitions. David has a great ‘eye’ for this and the difference it made was nothing short of amazing.

When buying art it is sometimes difficult to decipher between factual information and “sales pitch”.  This is where the expert advice offered by Banziger Hulme is invaluable because it is always honest, trustworthy and impartial.

If you are considering embarking on the exciting journey of Art Collecting, then we highly recommend you take David and Brigitte along with you, as they make great travel guides!”

R.H., Sydney, July 2013

“Dear Brigitte and David, this is just a little note to say thank you very much for arranging the conservation work on my painting. It’s wonderful to see it looking so lovely and beautiful again.”

D.H., Sydney, July 2013

“Hi David, thank you for the report. Enjoyable reading. Appreciate your insights and knowledge.”

M.H. December 2012

“Just a quick email to say thank you for your very professional valuation of our artwork. It was a pleasure dealing with you and David.”

K.P., Sydney, November 2012:

“Thank you for forwarding through the valuations – we really appreciate your time and effort on this, including the bios on the artists. Mum and Dad are very happy with the result.”

S.G., Sydney, November 2012:

“Thank you very much for all that, very impressive indeed. We’ll talk to you about doing the same thing with the other sketch if that’s OK, the little portrait, and I’ll certainly give David a call, thanks again.”

J.D., Sydney, August 2012:

“Your valuation hard copy has been received, thank you. I must compliment you and David on providing a very professional analysis and document.”

Jessica Moore, Collections Officer, Dubbo Regional Art Gallery, Dubbo, NSW, August 2008:

“The valuation package has arrived and everything looks wonderful. I wanted to extend my thanks to you for the efficient and thorough way that you carried out the valuation and the clear and professional nature of the documentation you have presented me with. I will be sure to recommend your services in the future and look forward to working with you again. I have been exceptionally pleased with the service provided by Banziger Hulme Fine Art Consultants.”

J.O., Western Australia, September 2012:

“Thanks for your help with my valuation request, and taking the time to ring me, your opinion has been very helpful in guiding my decision i.e. that is not to buy this particular art piece. Must also thank you for including me in the email list for future art auctions. I don’t have a specific agenda or aim to collect any particular artist’s works, the work was available and it sparked my interest, but was not sure and felt in need of advice which I am very glad I sought. Thanks again for your invaluable assistance.”

B.A., Sydney, August 2012:

“Thank you very much for the email and the hard copy documents did arrive. It was lovely to meet you both and I appreciate your prompt and professional services. I will not hesitate to recommend you or to contact you should I require any further assistance.”

R.& K. W., Sydney, March 2012:

“Thank you very much for valuing the artworks in our collection. We appreciated your very professional approach and the very clean documentation of the artworks. Thank you again for all your help and information, I really enjoyed reading the biographies – it has made the artworks more alive.”

B.G., Sydney, April 2012:

“We have now had an opportunity to study your valuation. We would like to thank you and David for a comprehensive and informative valuation which we certainly appreciate. The information on the artists is most interesting. Many thanks.”

J.N., Sydney, May 2012:

“Thank you both immensely for the time you put in on our dispersal of our art collection. We also enjoyed our meetings with you and felt we were in very capable hands.”

T.S., Australia:

“Love receiving your emails. I am still indebted to you both for your advice and bidding for a Cumbrae-Stewart. I still admire it daily and it reminds me of David’s call to tell me that he had bought it on my behalf. Thank you both for your contribution to art.”

H.F., Canberra, May 2012:

“Thank you so much for everything. You have been highly professional, generous with your time and advice and a pleasure to deal with.”

J. T., Athens:

“Dear David, thank you very much for your prompt & very helpful reply, on which I will act accordingly. That’s what I call excellent service from ‘Down Under’! All the best from a cold & wet Athens. “

M. Z., Lennox Head, NSW:

“Hi Brigitte / David, We received the reports last week and THANK YOU for all the effort. I finally had a chance to read them over the weekend and it looks great what you have done for us.”

T.S., Adelaide, SA:

“Thank you both. You have been invaluable in your help and information. Your service has been worth every penny. I’m sure that my mother and myself will be in touch with you in the new year for the next season of auctions.”

J.T., Australia:

“Not too disappointed and no rush to sell, it’s just that we’ve downsized the house and it no longer has a home. But thanks very much for your excellent assistance and quick response, it was greatly appreciated.”